Sequence III Surveillance Panel Meeting

Teams

Thursday February 6, 2024, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm EST

Agenda

1.0) Attendance

See attached

2.0) Chairman Comments

None

3.0) Approval of minutes

- 3.1) Motion to approve minutes from 1/9/2024 Meeting
 - Motion Approved

4.0) IIIH Action Items

4.1) Fuel Update – Haltermann

- W. Hairston will be leaving Haltermann March 1, 2025.
- Haltermann will discuss who will replace W. Hairston as a voting member.
- EEE fuel will be moved from Nixon, TX to Baytown, TX.
 - o 76,000 gallons remain in the tank.
 - o Fuel will be unavailable February 15th to February 20th.

4.2) CPD Update - OHT

4.2.1) Batch Code 9 (BC9) Pistons and Rings Update

- BC9 ring delivery has been delayed further until late February or early March.
- The smaller labs will run out of BC8 pistons soon.
- The larger labs may run out BC8 pistons sets by early March.
- All Batch Code (BC) 8 pistons have been allocated to the labs, meaning no BC8 pistons are in stock at the CPD.
- Motion was made to allow TMC to adjust reference period as needed to allow additional time for labs to receive BC9 rings.
 - o Motion was discussed before it was seconded.
 - o Motion delayed until more information is available.

4.2.2) BC9 Ring Delivery Contingency Plan Discussion

- 1. Proposed options,
 - a. Use BC9 Pistons with BC8 rings.
 - b. Use BC9 pistons with BC9 top and lower compression rings and BC4 oil control rings.

- c. Numerous other combinations of pistons, rings, and reference test proposals were discussed
- 2. Due to the numerous proposals and the implications of each option, it was decided to table the discussion for 2 weeks when the SP has a better idea of when the BC9 rings will be available

5.0) Old Business

None

6.0) New Business

None

7.0) Review / Update Scope and Objectives

8.0) Next Meeting

TBD ~Late February 2025

9.0) Meeting Adjourned

Meeting adjourned at 3:00 pm EST

ASTM Sequence III Surveillance Panel (19 Voting members)

date: 2-6-2025
Signature: X Soke a

Name	Email	Signature: X Xove Ou
Present - Voting Members:		Votes:
Jorge Agudelo	jorge.agudelo@bp.com	
Adrian Alfonso	adrian.alfonso@intertek.com	
✓ Jason Bowden	jhbowden@ohtech.com	
Michael Deegan	mdeegan@ford.com	
Venkat Deshpande	venkat.deshpande@toyota.com	
✓ Richard Grundza	reg@astmtmc.org	
William Hairston	whairston@jhaltermann.com	
Jeff Hsu, PE	j.hsu@shell.com	
✓ Dan Lanctot	dlanctot@tei-net.com	
✓ Patrick Lang	plang@swri.org	
✓ Dave Passmore	dpassmore@imtsind.com	
Michael Raney Tune	michael.p.raney@gm.com	
Andrew Ritchie	andrew.ritchie@infineum.com	
✓ Andrew Rohlfing	Andrew.Rohlfing@AftonChemical.com	
Paul Rubas Rubas,	Paul J <paul.j.rubas@exxonmobil.com></paul.j.rubas@exxonmobil.com>	
Amol Sawant	acsawant@valvolineglobal.com	
✓ Robert Stockwell	robert.stockwell@chevron.com	
✓ George Szappanos	george.szappanos@lubrizol.com	
Haiying Tang	haiying.tang@stellantis.com	

date:

Name **Email** Signature: Present - Members: ✓ Ricardo Affinito affinito@chevron.com Laura Birnbaumer labi@chevron.com Adam Bowden adbowden@ohtech.com Matt Bowden mjbowden@ohtech.com Jerome A. Brys jerome.brys@lubrizol.com Bill Buscher III william.buscher@intertek.com Bob Campbell bob.campbell@aftonchemical.com ___ Domingo Carreon domingo.carreon@intertek.com Jim Carter jcarter@gageproducts.com Martin Chadwick martin.chadwick@intertek.com Sid Clark sidney.clark@swri.org Tim Cushing timothy.cushing@gm.com Phil Davies daviesjp@bp.com Todd Dvorak Todd.Dvorak@Infineum.com ✓ Joe Franklin joe.franklin@intertek.com Izabela Gabrel IGabrel@h-c-s-group.com ___ Travis Kostan travis.kostan@swri.org Michael Lochte Michael.lochte@swri.org Ben Maddock Ben.Maddock@AftonChemical.com _ Paul Makarucha Paul.Makarucha@Infineum.com Jo Martinez JoMartinez@chevron.com Sean A. Moyer sam@astmtmc.org William A. Murdock william.murdock@swri.org Mark Overaker mhoveraker@jhaltermann.com __ Scott Rajala srajala.1460@idemitsu.com Cliff Salvesen clifford.r.salvesen@exxonmobil.com ___ Hirano Satoshi satoshi hirano aa@mail.toyota.co.jp

ASTM Sequence III Surveillance Panel (19 Voting members) date:			
Name	Email	Signature:	
Philip R. Scinto	prs@lubrizol.com		
<u>✓</u> Amanda Stone	Amanda.Stone@newmarket.com		
Chris Taylor	pslservicesinc@gmail.com		
Jonathan VanScoyoc	VANSCJ@cpchem.com		
Angela Willis	angela.willis@infineum.com		
Dean Wingert	dwingert@ford.com		
Justin Wolfe	Justin.Wolfe@lubrizol.com		
Yue Zhang	Yue.Zhang@Lubrizol.com		
Other Attendees:			
V ED HENN	ESSE-1	Managaning successions	
V ED HENN.	1		
		MANAGEMENT CONTRACTOR	